Faculty and Staff

Faculty Pages

The Levin College employs more than full-time faculty, as well as additional staff instructors and joint-appointed faculty members. Click on a faculty member's name to view biographical information.

Levin College Faculty

William M. Bowen
Professor
Ph.D. (Regional Analysis and Planning), Indiana University at Bloomington, 1989
Concentrations: Decision Science and Computer Applications, Economic Development, Environmental Issues
w.bowen@csuohio.edu

Benjamin Y. Clark
Associate Professor and Executive Director, Great Lakes Environmental Finance Center 
Ph.D. (Public Administration), University of Georgia, 2009
Concentrations: Finance/Budgeting, Public Management, Quantitative Methods
b.y.clark@csuohio.edu
http://about.me/benyclark

Ronnie Dunn
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Urban Studies), Cleveland State University, 2004
Concentrations: Urban Sociology, Racial and Social Justice, Crime and The Criminal Justice System
r.dunn@csuohio.edu

Robert (Bob) Gleeson
Interim Dean, Levin Chair and Professor
Urban Studies and Public Service

Ph.D. (History and Public Affairs), Carnegie Mellon University, 1997
r.gleeson@csuohio.edu

Tatyana Guzman
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Affairs), Indiana University, School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA), 2013
Concentrations: Public Finance and Policy Analysis, Education Policy Studies
t.guzman@csuohio.edu

Megan Hatch
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Policy and Administration), George Washington University
Teaching Focus: Urban Policy and City Management
Concentrations: Social Policy, Inequality, Rental Housing
m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu
Adriennie Hatten
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Urban Education), Cleveland State University, 2011
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Administration
a.hatten@csuohio.edu

Doddy Iskandar
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Urban and Public Affairs), University of Louisville, 2014
Teaching Focus: Economic Development
Concentrations: Urban Planning and Development
d.iskandar@csuohio.edu

Mittie Davis Jones
Associate Professor
Chair of Department of Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Political Science), Wayne State University, 1985
Concentrations: Program Evaluation, Public Policy Analysis, Urban Politics, Parent Empowerment, Children and Families
m.d.jones97@csuohio.edu

Sanda Kaufman
Professor
Director, Master of Environmental Studies Program

Ph.D. (Public Policy Analysis), Carnegie Mellon University, 1985
Concentrations: Decision Making in Conflict Management, Environmental Issues
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu
http://urban.csuohio.edu/~sanda

W. Dennis Keating
Professor
Distinguished Scholar Community Development
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of California at Berkeley, 1978
J.D., University of Pennsylvania Law School, 1968
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Urban Policy, Land Use Law, Neighborhood Planning
w.keating@csuohio.edu

Wendy A. Kellogg
Associate Dean and Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), Cornell University, 1993
Concentrations: Environmental Planning and Policy, Urban Planning, Watershed Governance
w.kellogg@csuohio.edu

Helen Liggett
Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Hawaii, 1979
Concentrations: Urban Theory, Discourse Analysis and Visual Culture and Photography
h.liggett@csuohio.edu

Joseph Mead
Assistant Professor
J.D. (Law), Unitversity of Michigan, 2007
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management and Public Administration
j.mead@csuohio.edu

Nancy Meyer-Emerick
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Florida Atlantic University, 1998
Concentrations: Public Administration, Emergency and Disaster Management
n.meyeremerick@csuohio.edu

Brian A. Mikelbank
Associate Professor
Director, Master of Science in Urban studies

Ph.D. (Geography), Ohio State University, 2000
Concentrations: Urban Geography, Housing Markets, and Regional Analysis
b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu

Robert A. Simons
Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1990
Concentrations: Environmental Real Estate Economics, Planning
r.simons@csuohio.edu

Michael W. Spicer
Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Ohio State University, 1974
Concentrations: Tax Compliance, Public Economies
m.spicer@csuohio.edu

Jenna Tighe (Rosie)
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Community and Regional Planning), University of Texas at Austin
Teaching Focus: Community and Neighborhood Development
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Race and Ethinicity and Neighborhood Revitalization
j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

Vera Vogelsang-Coombs
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), Washington University in St. Louis, 1985
Concentrations: Local Government, Leadership Development, Public Administration, Board and City Council Effectiveness
v.vogelsang-coombs@csuohio.edu

Stephanie Ryberg-Webster
Assistant Professor
Interim Director, Master of Urban Planning, Design and Development
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of Pennsylvania, 2010
Concentrations: Urban Planning, Historic Preservation, Community Development, and Neighborhood Revitalization
s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

Winifred Weizer
College Lecturer in Urban Studies
MPA, Cleveland State University, 1997
w.weizer@csuohio.edu

James C. Wyles
College Lecturer in GIS and Urban Geography
M.S. (Geology), University of Akron
Concentrations: Geographic Information Systems
j.wyles@csuohio.edu

Nicholas Zingale
Associate Professor and Director, Master of Public Administration
Ph.D. (Public Administration), University of Akron, 2004
Concentrations: Public Management and Sustainability, Environmental Studies, Organizational Theory and Behavior
n.zingale@csuohio.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Virginia O. Benson (Emerita)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University, 1981
Concentrations: Land Development, Waterfronts, Historic Preservation
v.benson@csuohio.edu

Lawrence F. Keller (Emeritus)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), American University, 1973
Concentrations: Public Policy and Public Administration
l.keller@csuohio.edu

Norman Krumholz (Emeritus)
Professor
M.C.R.P., Cornell University, 1965
Concentrations: Equity Planning, Community Development
n.krumholz@csuohio.edu

Larry C. Ledebur (Emeritus)
Professor
Senior Fellow in Urban Center
Editor, Economic Development Quarterly
Ph.D. (Economics), Florida State University
Concentrations: Economic Development, Urban Economics
l.ledebur@csuohio.edu

Sylvester Murray (Emeritus)
Professor
M.G.A., University of Pennsylvania, 1967; M.A. Eastern Michigan University, 1976
Concentrations: Urban Administration and Management
s.murray@csuohio.edu
Roberta Steinbacher (Emerita)
Professor
Ph.D. (Social Psychology), St. Louis University, 1967
Concentrations: Social Policy, Gender/Sex Selection
r.steinbacher@csuohio.edu
Camilla Stivers (Emerita)
Professor and Distinguished Scholar
Ph.D. (Public Administration and Policy), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1988
Concentrations: Public Administration Theory, Feminist Theory, Non-Profit Management
c.stivers@csuohio.edu
Michael Tevesz (Emeritus)
Professor
Senior Fellow in Urban Center
Special Assistant for Cultural Partnerships

Ph.D. Yale University
Concentrations: Geology for Urban Planners, Roles of Houses of Worship in Urban Neighborhoods
m.tevesz@csuohio.edu
Michael Wells (Emeritus)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (American History), Ohio State University, 1974
Concentrations: Historic Preservation, Sacred Landmarks
m.wells@csuohio.edu

Joint Appointed Faculty

Michael Gates
Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
m.gates@csuohio.edu

Miron Kaufman
Professor, Physics and Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Physics), Carnegie Mellon University, 1981
Concentrations: Quantitative Methods
m.kaufman@csuohio.edu
http://www.csuohio.edu/sciences/dept/physics/physicsweb/Bios/miron.html

Heidi Gorovitz Robertson
Associate Dean for Academic Enrichment and Professor of Law, C|M|LAW
Professor of Environmental Studies, Director (Law) J.D./M.A. Environmental Studies Dual Degree Program
J.D. University of Wisconsin 1990
LL.M 1995 and J.S.D. 2002 Columbia University
Concentrations: Environmental Law, Regulation, Property Law, Urban Environmental Issues
Heidi.Robertson@law.csuohio.edu

Alan Weinstein
Associate Professor and Director, J.D./MPA and J.D./MUPDD Dual Degree Programs
J.D. , University of California at Berkeley, 1977; M.C.P. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1979
Concentrations: Land Use Law, Administrative Law, Environmental Policy
alan.weinstein@law.csuohio.edu


Levin College Staff Instructors

Kathryn W. Hexter
Director, Center for Community Planning and Development,
M.S. (City and Regional Planning), Harvard University, 1978
Teaching Focus: Urban Housing Policy
k.hexter@csuohio.edu

Steven A. Minter
Senior Fellow, Center for Nonprofit Policy and Practice
M.S. (Social Administration), Case Western Reserve University, 1963
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management
s.minter@csuohio.edu

Mark Salling
Senior Research Associate
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University, 1982
Teaching Focus: Urban Geography, Research Methods, GIS, Demography
m.salling@csuohio.edu

Patrick Sweeney
Special Assistant, Special Projects
MPA, Harvard University; Honorary Doctor of Law, Cleveland State University
p.sweeney@csuohio.edu


Other Part-time Instructors

Caryn Lanzo
Senior Instructional Designer, Center for eLearning, Cleveland State University
Master of Education, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Policy
c.lanzo@csuohio.edu

Justin Glanville
Cleveland by Design
Master of Urban Planning, Design and Development, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Professional Writing, Urban Studies

Jim Kastelic
College Fellow
M.A. (Urban Geography) Kent State University
Teaching Focus: Community and Regional Planning, Resource Management

Dwayne Keeney
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, Cuyahoga Community College - Eastern Campus
MPA, Cleveland State University
Teaching Foucs: Quantitative Methods and Research Methodology (Applied Reasoning I and II)
D.Keeney@csuohio.edu

Richard Klein
Ph.D. (History), University of Akron
Teaching Focus: Historic Preservation, Urban Studies
email: r.klein@csuohio.edu

Mark Link
Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
MS in Urban Studies, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Natural History, Environmental Studies

Erica Matheny
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs), Cleveland State Unitversity, 2012
Teaching Focus: Urban and Environmental Issues, Proposal Writing
Concentrations: Urban Issues and Public Affairs, Biological and Natural Sciences
e.matheny@csuohio.edu

Denise McCray
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs)
Teaching Focus: Urban Studies and Public Administration
d.v.mccray@csuohio.edu

Faith Noble, CPA
Controller, The Cleveland Orchestra
MAFIS (Master of Accountancy and Financial Information Systems), Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Finance and Administration
f.noble@csuohio.edu

Michael Paquet
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs), Cleveland State University
m.paquet@csuohio.edu

Julie Rittenhouse
Office of Advancement, Cleveland State University
MSSA, Case Western Reserve University
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Organizations and Proposal Writing
j.rittenhouse@csuohio.edu

Jim Robey
Managing Director, Mohr Partners
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs) Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Economic Development, Economics and Public Finance
j.robey@csuohio.edu

Wendy Slone
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs) Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Studies
w.slone@csuohio.edu

Gregory Soltis
Master of Urban Planning, Design, and Development, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Design, Cleveland History
g.s.soltis@vikes.csuohio.edu

Lisa Thomas
Director, Center for Experiential Learning
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs), Cleveland State University, 2008
Teaching Focus: Public Administration and Non-Profit Management
m.e.thomas12@csuohio.edu

engaged learning
    Mailing Address
    Cleveland State University
    2121 Euclid Avenue, UR 230
    Cleveland, OH 44115-2214
    Campus Location
    Urban Building, Room 230
    1717 Euclid Avenue
    Phone: 216.687.5262
    v.hicks@csuohio.edu




    This site contains files that require the free Adobe Reader to view.