Faculty and Staff

Faculty Pages

The Levin College employs more than full-time faculty, as well as additional staff instructors and joint-appointed faculty members. Click on a faculty member's name to view biographical information.

Levin College Faculty

Virginia O. Benson  (Emerita)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University, 1981
Concentrations: Land Development, Waterfronts, Historic Preservation
v.benson@csuohio.edu

William M. Bowen
Professor
Ph.D. (Regional Analysis and Planning), Indiana University at Bloomington, 1989
Concentrations: Decision Science and Computer Applications, Economic Development, Environmental Issues
w.bowen@csuohio.edu

Benjamin Y. Clark
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), University of Georgia, 2009
Concentrations: Finance/Budgeting, Public Management, Quantitative Methods
b.y.clark@csuohio.edu
http://about.me/benyclark

Ronnie Dunn
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Urban Studies), Cleveland State University, 2004
Concentrations: Urban Sociology, Racial and Social Justice, Crime and The Criminal Justice System
r.dunn@csuohio.edu

Robert (Bob) Gleeson
Chair and Professor
Urban Studies and Public Service

Ph.D. (History and Public Affairs), Carnegie Mellon University, 1997
bob_gleeson@yahoo.com

Tatyana Guzman
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Affairs), Indiana University, School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA), 2013
Concentrations: Public Finance and Policy Analysis, Education Policy Studies
t.guzman@csuohio.edu

Edward W. Hill
Dean and Professor
Distinguished Scholar of Economic Development

Ph.D. (Economics, Urban and Regional Planning), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1981
Concentrations: Public Policy and Education Reform, Regional Labor Markets, Economic Development Banking
e.hill@csuohio.edu

Mittie Davis Jones
Associate Professor
Chair of Department of Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Political Science), Wayne State University, 1985
Concentrations: Program Evaluation, Public Policy Analysis, Urban Politics, Parent Empowerment, Children and Families
m.d.jones97@csuohio.edu

Sanda Kaufman
Professor
Director, Master of Environmental Studies Program

Ph.D. (Public Policy Analysis), Carnegie Mellon University, 1985
Concentrations: Decision Making in Conflict Management, Environmental Issues
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu
http://urban.csuohio.edu/~sanda

W. Dennis Keating
Professor
Distinguished Scholar Community Development
Director, Master of Urban Planning, Design and Development
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of California at Berkeley, 1978
J.D., University of Pennsylvania Law School, 1968
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Urban Policy, Land Use Law, Neighborhood Planning
w.keating@csuohio.edu

Lawrence F. Keller (Emeritus)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), American University, 1973
Concentrations: Public Policy and Public Administration
l.keller@csuohio.edu

Wendy A. Kellogg
Associate Dean and Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), Cornell University, 1993
Concentrations: Environmental Planning and Policy, Urban Planning, Watershed Governance
w.kellogg@csuohio.edu

Norman Krumholz (Emeritus)
Professor
M.C.R.P., Cornell University, 1965
Concentrations: Equity Planning, Community Development
n.krumholz@csuohio.edu

Larry C. Ledebur (Emeritus)
Professor
Senior Fellow in Urban Center
Editor, Economic Development Quarterly
Ph.D. (Economics), Florida State University
Concentrations: Economic Development, Urban Economics
l.ledebur@csuohio.edu

Helen Liggett
Professor
Director, Doctoral Program in Urban Studies and Public Affairs
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Hawaii, 1979
Concentrations: Urban Theory, Discourse Analysis and Visual Culture and Photography
h.liggett@csuohio.edu

Jennifer Madden
College Lecturer
Concentrations: Non-profit and Community Development
j.r.madden@csuohio.edu

Nancy Meyer-Emerick
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Florida Atlantic University, 1998
Concentrations: Public Administration, Emergency and Disaster Management
n.meyeremerick@csuohio.edu

Brian A. Mikelbank
Associate Professor
Director, Master of Science in Urban studies

Ph.D. (Geography), Ohio State University, 2000
Concentrations: Urban Geography, Housing Markets, and Regional Analysis
b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu

Sylvester Murray (Emeritus)
Professor
M.G.A., University of Pennsylvania, 1967; M.A. Eastern Michigan University, 1976
Concentrations: Urban Administration and Management
s.murray@csuohio.edu

Robert A. Simons
Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1990
Concentrations: Environmental Real Estate Economics, Planning
r.simons@csuohio.edu

Michael W. Spicer
Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Ohio State University, 1974
Concentrations: Tax Compliance, Public Economies
m.spicer@csuohio.edu

Roberta Steinbacher (Emerita)
Professor
Ph.D. (Social Psychology), St. Louis University, 1967
Concentrations: Social Policy, Gender/Sex Selection
r.steinbacher@csuohio.edu

Camilla Stivers (Emerita)
Professor and Distinguished Scholar
Ph.D. (Public Administration and Policy), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1988
Concentrations: Public Administration Theory, Feminist Theory, Non-Profit Management
c.stivers@csuohio.edu

Michael Tevesz (Emeritus)
Professor
Senior Fellow in Urban Center
Special Assistant for Cultural Partnerships

Ph.D. Yale University
Concentrations: Geology for Urban Planners, Roles of Houses of Worship in Urban Neighborhoods
m.tevesz@csuohio.edu

Lisa Thomas
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs), Cleveland State University, 2008
Teaching Focus: Public Administration and Non-Profit Management
m.e.thomas12@csuohio.edu

Vera Vogelsang-Coombs
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), Washington University in St. Louis, 1985
Concentrations: Local Government, Leadership Development, Public Administration, Board and City Council Effectiveness
v.vogelsang-coombs@csuohio.edu

Stephanie Ryberg Webster
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of Pennsylvania, 2010
Concentrations: Urban Planning, Historic Preservation, Community Development, and Neighborhood Revitalization
s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

Alan Weinstein
Associate Professor and Director, J.D./MPA and J.D./MUPDD Dual Degree Programs
J.D. , University of California at Berkeley, 1977; M.C.P. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1979
Concentrations: Land Use Law, Administrative Law, Environmental Policy
alan.weinstein@law.csuohio.edu

Winifred Weizer
College Lecturer in Urban Studies
MPA, Cleveland State University, 1997
w.weizer@csuohio.edu

Michael Wells (Emeritus)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (American History), Ohio State University, 1974
Concentrations: Historic Preservation, Sacred Landmarks
m.wells@csuohio.edu

James C. Wyles
College Lecturer in GIS and Urban Geography
M.S. (Geology), University of Akron
Concentrations: Geographic Information Systems
j.wyles@csuohio.edu

Jordan Yin, AICP
Director, Undergraduate Programs and Associate College Lecturer
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning) Cornell University, 2001
Concentrations: Community Development, Neighborhood planning, Urban and Land Use Planning
j.s.yin@csuohio.edu

Nicholas Zingale
Assistant Professor and Director, Master of Public Administration
Ph.D. (Public Administration), University of Akron, 2004
Concentrations: Public Management and Sustainability, Environmental Studies, Organizational Theory and Behavior
n.zingale@csuohio.edu


Joint Appointed Faculty

Michael Gates
Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
m.gates@csuohio.edu

Miron Kaufman
Professor, Physics and Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Physics), Carnegie Mellon University, 1981
Concentrations: Quantitative Methods
m.kaufman@csuohio.edu
http://www.csuohio.edu/sciences/dept/physics/physicsweb/Bios/miron.html

Heidi Gorovitz Robertson
Associate Dean for Academic Enrichment and Professor of Law, C|M|LAW
Professor of Environmental Studies, Director (Law) J.D./M.A. Environmental Studies Dual Degree Program
J.D. University of Wisconsin 1990
LL.M 1995 and J.S.D. 2002 Columbia University
Concentrations: Environmental Law, Regulation, Property Law, Urban Environmental Issues
Heidi.Robertson@law.csuohio.edu


Levin College Staff Instructors

Kathryn W. Hexter
Director, Center for Community Planning and Development,
M.S. (City and Regional Planning), Harvard University, 1978
Teaching Focus: Urban Housing Policy
k.hexter@csuohio.edu

Stuart Mendel
Director, Master of Nonprofit Administration and Leadership
Assistant Dean
Director, Center for Nonprofit Policy and Practice

Ph.D. (Social Policy History), Case Western Reserve University, 2000
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management
s.mendel@csuohio.edu

Steven A. Minter
Senior Fellow, Center for Nonprofit Policy and Practice
M.S. (Social Administration), Case Western Reserve University, 1963
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management
s.minter@csuohio.edu

Mark Salling
Senior Research Associate
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University, 1982
Teaching Focus: Urban Geography, Research Methods, GIS, Demography
m.salling@csuohio.edu

Patrick Sweeney
Special Assistant, Special Projects
MPA, Harvard University; Honorary Doctor of Law, Cleveland State University
p.sweeney@csuohio.edu

Philip Star
Execitive in Residence
M.A. (History), New York University; J.D., Case Western Reserve University, 1975
p.star@csuohio.edu


Other Part-time Instructors

Sandy Crocker
Organizational Consultant
Teaching Focus: Organizational Development and Diversity Management
s.l.crocker@csuohio.edu

Caryn Eucker
Senior Instructional Designer, Center for eLearning, Cleveland State University
Master of Education, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Policy
c.eucker@csuohio.edu

Justin Glanville
Cleveland by Design
Master of Urban Planning, Design and Development, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Professional Writing, Urban Studies

Jim Kastelic
College Fellow
M.A. (Urban Geography) Kent State University
Teaching Focus: Community and Regional Planning, Resource Management

Dwayne Keeney
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, Cuyahoga Community College - Eastern Campus
MPA, Cleveland State University
Teaching Foucs: Quantitative Methods and Research Methodology (Applied Reasoning I and II)
D.Keeney@csuohio.edu

Richard Klein
Ph.D. (History), University of Akron
Teaching Focus: Historic Preservation, Urban Studies
email: r.klein@csuohio.edu

Mark Link
Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
MS in Urban Studies, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Natural History, Environmental Studies

Daniel Meaney
GIS/IS Manager, Cuyahoga County Planning Commission
M.S. (Urban Studies) Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Geographic Information Systems
dmeaney@cuyahogacounty.us

Erica Matheny
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs), Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban and Environmental Issues, Proposal Writing
e.matheny@csuohio.edu

Faith Noble, CPA
Controller, The Cleveland Orchestra
MAFIS (Master of Accountancy and Financial Information Systems), Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Finance and Administration
f.noble@csuohio.edu

Michael Paquet
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs), Cleveland State University
m.paquet@csuohio.edu

Julie Rittenhouse
Office of Advancement, Cleveland State University
MSSA, Case Western Reserve University
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Organizations and Proposal Writing
j.rittenhouse@csuohio.edu

Jim Robey
Managing Director, Mohr Partners
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs) Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Economic Development, Economics and Public Finance
j.robey@csuohio.edu

Wendy Slone
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs) Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Studies
w.slone@csuohio.edu

Denise McCray
Ph.D. (Urban Studies and Public Affairs)
Teaching Focus: Urban Studies and Public Administration
d.v.mccray@csuohio.edu

Elaine Woloshyn
Elaine Woloshyn and Associates
MPA, Syracuse University
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management
elainemw@aol.com

Gregory Soltis
Master of Urban Planning, Design, and Development, Cleveland State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Design, Cleveland History
g.s.soltis@vikes.csuohio.edu

engaged learning
    Mailing Address
    Cleveland State University
    2121 Euclid Avenue, UR 230
    Cleveland, OH 44115-2214
    Campus Location
    Urban Building, Room 230
    1717 Euclid Avenue
    Phone: 216.687.5262
    v.hicks@csuohio.edu




    This site contains files that require the free Adobe Reader to view.