faculty women's interest group
Since: April, 2006

FWIG list:

This site has been prepared by Sanda Kaufman
Please contact her with any comments.

back to top

acsp main

APA's PW exchange
urban planning research blog

katrina planning forum

back to top
FWIG, the Faculty Women's Interest Group, is a formally approved Interest Group of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP), a consortium of university-based programs offering degrees and credentials in Urban and Regional Planning.
ACSP promotes planning education, research, service, and outreach in North America and throughout the world (see link below).
FWIG seeks to encourage and support women faculty and graduate students in urban and regional planning as well as those conducting research and outreach on planning issues critical to women.

Current events

  • Here is your opportunity to nominate colleagues or students whose work you admire! FWIG will be presenting two awards this year: the Margarita McCoy Advancement of Women in Planning Award and the Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning. Deadline for nominations is July 1 (see http://www.acsp.org/awards for more information).
    As described on the FWIG website, the Margarita McCoy Award was named to honor a pioneer planning educator known for her unflagging commitment to the advancement of women in the profession. Today Professor Emerita at Cal Poly Pomona, Margarita was one of the one of the first women in a tenure-track position in planning and the first female full professor of Planning in the US. She was very involved in ACSP, serving as ACSP Secretary in the organizations formative years.
    FWIG established the McCoy award to honor ACSP women who follow the model set by Professor McCoy--those whose teaching, research, or service helps advance women in the planning academy by creating a positive climate for women students and faculty, encouraging greater participation by women in ACSP, mentoring and supporting junior women faculty, and/or providing leadership in overcoming barriers faced by women in a variety of academic arena.
    The Ritzdorf Award recognizes superior scholarship reflecting concern with making communities better for women, people of color and/or the disadvantaged. Submissions may be based on student work submitted in the pursuit of any urban/city/community/town or regional planning degree, undergraduate or graduate, at an ACSP-member school. This award carries a cash grant of $100; the work is expected to be presented at the 2010 ACSP Conference where the award is presented.
  • The 2010 Margarita McCoy Award Committee consists of Ann Forsyth, Chair and FWIG Vice President, recent McCoy award-winners Daphne Spain, Patricia Pollack, and Margot Garcia, and two other FWIG members, Carissa Schively-Slotterback and Smita Srinivas.
  • The Marsha Ritzdorf Award Committee consists of Rebecca Miles, Chair and FWIG President and FWIG members Penny Gurstein and Piyushimita Thakuriah (Vonu).

Please send us YOUR news!
Conference 2010
FWIG events at ACSP Plan to attend FWIG events

Idea Exchange

  • What can FWIG do for you?
  • What would you like to do for FWIG
- Write to the FWIG list to contribute your ideas for activities, conference sessions and workshops, topics for the business meeting, etc.
To post your message to the FWIG list, address your email to:
FWIG list*: ACSP-FWIG-L@cornell.edu
* you have to sign up for the list and then write from the email account under which you signed up.
To sign up, send to Lyris@Cornell.edu a message containing only Subscribe ACSP-FWIG-L [your name]
(the case counts). Hit "send".

Contribute to First Person FWIG!

A Young Planning Academic's Guide to Professional Etiquette + top 10 tips

FWIGware - a fashion statement with a purpose

The FWIG List is one way that FWIG members communicate.
To sign up for FWIG membership before October 15, please e-mail Sherry Bame with the following information:
  • NAME
  • E-MAIL