Academics

Fall 2020 Syllabi

Syllabi are posted at the beginning of the semester (or earlier) and do not reflect any updates that might have occurred since then. Students enrolled in these courses should refer to the most recently updated syllabus, available from course instructors. To obtain a syllabus from a previous semester please contact Suzanne Sharpe (s.m.sharpe71@csuohio.edu). Note: Syllabi are only provided for courses conducted at Levin College.

Also see Columbus Seminar for other course information.


UST 190 Analysis of Experiential Learning
Galla
​​​​​​​Email: k.galla@csuohio.edu

UST 200 Section 1 Introduction to Urban Studies
Nagy
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 200 Section 501 Introduction to Urban Studies
Nagy
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 202 Cleveland: African American Experience
Matheny
​​​​​​​Email: Use Blackboard email function or e.matheny@csuohio.edu

UST 202 Cleveland: The African American Experience Past, Present, and Future
McCray
Email: d.v.mccray@csuohio.edu

UST 202 Section 1 Cleveland: The African-American Experience
Whyte
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 202 Section 502 Cleveland: The African-American Experience
Whyte
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 202 Section 504 Cleveland, Past, Present, and Future: The African American Experience 
​​​​​​​Robinson
Email: m.robinson@csuohio.edu

UST 206 Section 501 Megacities of Asia
Yeom
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 250 The City In Film
Webster
Email: s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

UST 251 Section 1 African American Images on Film
Pickett
Email: p.pickett@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Section 1 Natural History of Cleveland (Fridays)
Donaldson
Email: D.L.Donaldson@csuohio.edu 

UST 259 Section 1 Natural History of Cleveland (Saturdays)
Donaldson
Email: D.L.Donaldson@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Section 2 Natural History Of Cleveland
​​​​​​​Wise
Email: m.e.wise74@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Section 470 Natural History of Cleveland
Soltis
​​​​​​​Email: g.s.soltis@csuohio.edu

UST 289 Physical Geography
Ruud
​​​​​​​Email: r.ruud@csuohio.edu

UST 289 Section 1 Physical Geography
Weizer
Email: w.weizer@csuohio.edu

UST 289 Section 2 Physical Geography
Ruud
​​​​​​​Email: r.ruud@csuohio.edu

UST 290 Section 1 Urban Geography
Weizer
Email: w.weizer@csuohio.edu

UST 300 Economics For Policy Analysis
Crowe
Email: e.a.crowe@csuohio.edu

UST 301 Urban Development
Bowen
Email: w.bowen@csuohio.edu  

UST 302 Contemporary Urban Issues
Long
Email: m.f.long@csuohio.edu or Use Blackboard email function 

UST 302 Section 1 Contemporary Urban Issues
Paquet
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 302 Section 50 Contemporary Urban Issues
​​​​​​​Paquet
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 302 Section 505 Contemporary Urban Issues
Brown
Email: j.c.brown23@csuohio.edu

UST 302 Section 502 Contemporary Urban Issues
Matheny
Email: Use Blackboard email function or e.matheny@csuohio.edu

UST 302 Section 502 Contemporary Urban Issues
Swetkis
Email: d.swetkis@csuohio.edu or use Blackboard email function

UST 302 Section 504 Contemporary Urban Issues
Keller
​​​​​​​Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 404 Urban Data Analysis
Galla
Email: k.galla@csuohio.edu

UST 404 Urban Data Analysis
Yun
Email: j.yun17@csuohio.edu

UST 404 Urban Data Analysis / UST 504 Fundamentals of Applied Reasoning
Keeney
Email: d.keeney@csuohio.edu

UST 404 Section 501 Urban Data Analysis
Weizer
Email: w.weizer@csuohio.edu 

UST 405 Section 50 Methods of Research and Evaluation
Mageean
Email: d.mageean@csuohio.edu

UST 405 Section 51 Methods of Research and Evaluation
Mageean
Email: d.mageean@csuohio.edu

​​​​​​​UST 405 Section 501 Methods of Research and Evaluation
Durbin
Email: j.durbin@csuohio.edu or use Blackboard email function

UST 410 Section 501 Proposal Writing
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 410 / UST 510 Proposal Writing & Program Development
Rittenhouse
Email: Use Blackboard email function (or j.rittenhouse@csuohio.edu in case of emergency)

UST 418 Introduction to Urban Planning
Kastelic
​​​​​​​Email: Use Blackboard email function or j.m.kastelic@csuohio.edu

UST 425 Section 50 Economic Development Finance
Drucker
​​​​​​​Email: s.drucker@csuohio.edu

UST 433 Section 50 / UST 572 Section 50 Negotiation and Conflict Management
Viskocil
Email: t.viskocic00@csuohio.edu

UST 433 Section 51/ UST 572 Section 51 Negotiation and Conflict Management
Viskocil
Email: t.viskocic00@csuohio.edu

UST435 Environmental Policy and Administration
Bowen
Email: w.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 436 Urban Sustainability 
Hilde
Email: t.hilde@csuohio.edu 

UST 441 Environmental Planning
Davis
Email: p.l.davis11@csuohio.edu or use Blackboard email function

UST 451 Section 50 / UST 751 Fundraising and External Relations for Nonprofit Organizations
​​​​​​​Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu​​​​​​​

UST 452 Section 50 Management of Urban and Nonprofit Organizations
Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 452 Sections 751/752 Management of Urban and Nonprofit Organizations
Groble
E-mail: p.groble@csuohio.edu

UST 453 Sections 51/751 Managing Urban Diversity
Groble
E-mail: p.groble@csuohio.edu

UST 453 / UST 512 Managing Urban Diversity
Taylor
Email: t.taylor1@csuohio.edu

UST 453 / UST 512 Managing Urban Diversity (Remote)
Taylor
Email: t.taylor1@csuohio.edu

UST 456 Section 501 Fundamentals of Nonprofit Administration and Leadership
Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 458 Urban Policy
Galla
Email: k.galla@csuohio.edu

UST 458 Section 501 Urban Policy
Lanzo
Email: c.lanzo@csuohio.edu

UST 458 Section 502 Urban Policy
Glenn
Email: k.glenn@csuohio.edu

UST 459 Section 501 Budgeting and Policy Analysis
Weiss
​​​​​​​Email: m.weiss@csuohio.edu

UST 463/563 Section 50 Housing Analysis
Mikelbank
E-mail: b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu

UST 476/576 Historic Preservation
Webster
Email: s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

UST 481/581 Public Safety Management
Wukich
Email: r.wukich@csuohio.edu

UST 485/585 GIS Principles
Nagy
Email: b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

UST 486 / UST 586 GIS Method
Yeom
​​​​​​​Email: m.yeom@csuohio.edu

UST 489 Advanced Senior Seminar
Weeks
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 490 Urban Internship
Nagy
Email: Use Blackboard Email

​​​​​​​UST493/593 Special Topic: Project Leadership and Management
Berkman & Anglin
Emails: ronald.berkman@csuohio.edur.anglin@csuohio.edu

UST493 / UST593 / LAW 522 Section 51
Fisher
Email: lee.fisher@csuohio.edu

UST 493H Cleveland: Its Legacy and Its Future
Tighe
E-mail: j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

UST 515/ UST 600 Introduction to Public Administration
Hatch
Email: m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu

UST 516/ UST 603 Public Sector Economics
Spicer
Email: m.spicer@csuohio.edu

UST 517/617 Public Administration and the Policy Process
Mead
E-mail: j.mead@csuohio.edu

UST 550 Fundamentals of Nonprofit Administration and Leadership
Mead
E-mail: j.mead@csuohio.edu

UST 571/671 Levin Graduate Urban Colloquium
Gleeson, Hatch, Tighe, Mead
E-mail: r.gleeson@csuohio.edu, m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu, j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu, j.mead@csuohio.edu

UST 579 Civic Engagement
Webster
Email: s.ryberg@csuohio.edu 

UST 601 Applied Quantitative Reasoning I
Rubado
Email: m.rubado@csuohio.edu

UST 604 Leadership, Management, & Organization Behavior
Wukich
Email: r.wukich@csuohio.edu

UST 605 Section 50 Regional Theory And Analysis
Mikelbank
E-mail: b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu

UST606 The Evolution of Human Settlements
Gleeson
Email: r.gleeson@csuohio.edu

UST 607 Planning History & Theory
Tighe
Email: j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

UST 613 Land Use Planning & Sustainable Development
Hilde
Email: t.hilde@csuohio.edu

UST 622 Economic Development and Practice
Berkman
E-mail: ronald.berkman@csuohio.edu 

UST 623 Urban Development Finance
Simons
​​​​​​​Email: r.simons@csuohio.edurobysimons4@gmail.com

UST 634/734 Section 501 Ethics in the Public Sector
Long
Email: m.f.long@csuohio.edu 

UST 636 Public Budgeting and Finance
Pae
​​​​​​​Email: j.pae@csuohio.edu

UST 650 Financial Administration/Control of Nonprofit Organizations
Petrus
Email: j.n.petrus@csuohio.edu

UST652/752 Environmental Policy & Administration
Kaufman
Email: s.kaufman@csuohio.edu

​​​​​​​UST 692 Section 504 Public Administration Capstone
​​​​​​​Keller
Email: Use Blackboard email function

UST 693/LAW 703A Energy Policy and Law
Thomas
Email: a.r.thomas99@csuohio.edu, m.d.henning@csuohio.edu

UST 802 Logic of Inquiry
Zingale
Email: n.zingale@csuohio.edu

UST 803 Quantitative Research Methods I
Rubado
Email: m.rubado@csuohio.edu