Faculty and Staff

Levin College Faculty

faculty header.jpg

The Levin College employs more than full-time faculty, as well as additional staff instructors and joint-appointed faculty members. Click on a faculty member's name to view biographical information.

LEVIN COLLEGE FACULTY

Roland V. Anglin
Dean and Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Chicago
Concentrations: Economic and Community Development

r.anglin@csuohio.edu

Jeffrey M. Bowen
Assistant College Lecturer in Organizational Leadership
MNO, Case Western Reserve University
Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE)
Concentrations:  Nonprofit Management, Organizational Leadership, Fundraising, Public Relations, Governance & Trusteeship
j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

William M. Bowen
Professor
Director, Ph.D. Program

Ph.D. (Regional Analysis and Planning), Indiana University at Bloomington
Concentrations: Decision Science and Computer Applications, Economic Development, Environmental Issues
w.bowen@csuohio.edu


Grace L. Chikoto-Schultz
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Policy), Joint Degree - Georgia State University and Georgia Institute of Technology
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management and Program Evaluation
Concentrations: Nonprofit Financial Health and Funding Streams, Nonprofit Disaster Preparedness, INGOs/CSO-state relations
g.l.schultz@csuohio.edu

Ronnie Dunn
Associate Professor and Interim Chief Diversity Officer
Ph.D. (Urban Studies), Cleveland State University
Concentrations: Urban Sociology, Racial and Social Justice, Crime and The Criminal Justice System
r.dunn@csuohio.edu


BJ Fletcher
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration) University of Nebraska at Omaha
Concentrations: Public Policy, Food Policy, Food Security, Comparative Policy, Urban Studies, Public Administration Ethics, Qualitative Research Methods, Phenomenology, Quantitative Research Methods, Emergency Management, Social Determinants of Health.
b.j.fletcher@csuohio.edu

Joanna P. Ganning
Associate Dean for Faculty Research, Development, and Administration, Associate Professor, and Director, Master of Urban Planning and Development program
Ph.D. (Regional Planning), University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Concentrations: Economic development, GIS, shrinking/legacy cities, econometrics
j.ganning@csuohio.edu


Michelle Graff
​Assistant Professor
Ph.D. ​(Public Affairs), Indiana University
Concentrations: Energy Policy, Energy Justice, Public Administration, Administrative Burdens, Policy Analysis
m.graff66@csuohio.edu

Robert (Bob) Gleeson 
Professor, and Albert A. Levin Chair of Urban Studies and Public Service 
Ph.D. (History and Policy), Carnegie Mellon University
r.gleeson@csuohio.edu

Tatyana Guzman
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Affairs), Indiana University, School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA)
Concentrations: Public Finance and Policy Analysis, Education Policy Studies
t.guzman@csuohio.edu

Megan Hatch
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Policy and Administration), George Washington University
Teaching Focus: Urban Policy and City Management
Concentrations: Social Policy, Inequality, Rental Housing
m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Community and Regional Planning), University of Texas at Austin
Teaching Focus: Urban Sustainability, Land Use Planning, GIS
Concentrations: Scenario Planning, Planning Support Tools, Green Infrastructure, Urban Resilience

Wendy A. Kellogg
Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), Cornell University
Concentrations: Environmental Planning and Policy, Urban Planning, Watershed Governance
w.kellogg@csuohio.edu

Deirdre Mageean
Professor
d.mageean@csuohio.edu

Brian A. Mikelbank
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Geography), Ohio State University
Concentrations: Urban Geography, Housing Markets, and Regional Analysis
b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu


Beth Nagy
Assistant College Lecturer in Urban Planning Practice
Ed.D. (Urban Educational Leadership), University of Cincinnati
Concentrations: Physical Planning, Urban Studies, GIS
b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

Robert Pfaff
Visiting Assistant Professor of Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Urban and Regional Planning) University of Michigan
Concentrations: Transportation, Race & Inequality, Planning History, Structural Racism, Regional Governance, Transit Policy, Rust Belt Cities
r.w.pfaff@csuohio.edu

Meghan Rubado
Assistant Professor in Public Administration/City Management
Director, Master of Arts in Environmental Studies and Master of Science in Urban Studies programs
Ph.D. (Political Science), Temple University
Concentrations: Urban Policy and Politics, Collaborative Governance, Environmental Issues
m.rubado@csuohio.edu

Stephanie Ryberg-Webster
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of Pennsylvania
Concentrations: Urban Planning, Historic Preservation, Community Development, and Neighborhood Revitalization
s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

Robert A. Simons
Professor
Chair, Department of Urban Studies

Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Concentrations: Environmental Real Estate Economics, Planning
r.simons@csuohio.edu


Jeffrey Snyder
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Educational Policy), Michigan State University
Teaching Focus: Public Policy and Research Methods
Concentrations: K-12 Education Policy, Governance, and Politics
j.w.snyder3@csuohio.edu

Jenna Tighe (Rosie) – Dr. Tighe is on sabbatical until Fall 2022.
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Community and Regional Planning), University of Texas at Austin
Teaching Focus: Community and Neighborhood Development
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Race, Ethnicity, and Neighborhood Revitalization
Learn more about me.
j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

Winifred Weizer
Associate College Lecturer
Director, Undergraduate Programs

MPA, Cleveland State University
w.weizer@csuohio.edu


Clayton Wukich
Associate Professor
Director, Master of Public Administration program and Director, Master of Nonprofit Administration and Leadership program

Ph.D. (Public and International Affairs), University of Pittsburgh
Teaching Focus: Public Management and Public Policy
Concentrations: Organizational Theory and Behavior, City Management, Collaborative Governance, Social Networks, Digital Government, Public Safety, Emergency Management, and Homeland Security
r.wukich@csuohio.edu

Nicholas Zingale
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), University of Akron
Concentrations: Public Management and Sustainability, Environmental Studies, Organizational Theory and Behavior
n.zingale@csuohio.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

Jennifer Alexander
Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D. (Public Administration and Policy) Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia
Concentrations: Public Administration Theory, Administrative Responsibility and Discretion, Political Role of Nonprofits (Citizenship, Advocacy, Policy Implementation), Public Budgeting, Ethics, Social Equity and Race
 

Virginia O. Benson
Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University
Concentrations: Land Development, Waterfronts, Historic Preservation
v.benson@csuohio.edu

Edward W. Hill 
Professor Emeritus and Former Dean
Ph.D. (Economics, Urban and Regional Planning), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1981
Concentrations: Public Policy and Education Reform, Regional Labor Markets, Economic Development Banking
hill.1973@osu.edu


Mittie Davis Jones 
Associate Professor Emerita and Interim Director of the Diversity Institute
Ph.D. (Political Science), Wayne State University
Concentrations: Program Evaluation, Public Policy Analysis, Urban Politics, Parent Empowerment, Children and Families
m.d.jones97@csuohio.edu

Sanda Kaufman 
Professor Emerita
Ph.D. (Public Policy Analysis), Carnegie Mellon University
Concentrations: Decision Making in Conflict Management, Environmental Issues
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu

W. Dennis Keating
Professor Emeritus
Distinguished Scholar Community Development
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of California at Berkeley
J.D., University of Pennsylvania Law School
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Urban Policy, Land Use Law, Neighborhood Planning
w.keating@csuohio.edu

Lawrence F. Keller 
Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. (Public Administration), American University
Concentrations: Public Policy and Public Administration
l.keller@csuohio.edu

Larry Ledebur 
Professor Emeritus
Senior Fellow in Urban Center

Editor, Economic Development Quarterly
Ph.D. (Economics), Florida State University
Concentrations: Economic Development, Urban Economics
l.ledebur@csuohio.edu


Helen Liggett 
Professor Emerita
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Hawaii
Concentrations: Urban Theory, Discourse Analysis and Visual Culture and Photography
h.liggett@csuohio.edu

Nancy Meyer-Emerick 
Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Florida Atlantic University
Concentrations: Democratic Governance, Organizational Behavior, Emergency Preparedness, Environmental Health
n.meyeremerick@csuohio.edu
 

Sylvester Murray 
Professor Emeritus
M.G.A., University of Pennsylvania; M.A. Eastern Michigan University
Concentrations: Urban Administration and Management
s.murray@csuohio.edu

Wornie Reed 
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. (Sociology) Boston University
Concentrations: Criminal Justice, Discrimination, Healthcare, Labor, Race, Social Policy


Michael W. Spicer
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Ohio State University
Concentrations: Tax Compliance, Public Economies
m.spicer@csuohio.edu

Roberta Steinbacher 
Professor Emerita
Ph.D. (Social Psychology), St. Louis University
Concentrations: Social Policy, Gender/Sex Selection
r.steinbacher@csuohio.edu

Camilla Stivers 
Professor Emerita and Distinguished Scholar
Ph.D. (Public Administration and Policy), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Concentrations: Public Administration Theory, Feminist Theory, Non-Profit Management
c.stivers@csuohio.edu

Michael Tevesz 
Professor Emeritus
Senior Fellow in Urban Center
Special Assistant for Cultural Partnerships
Ph.D. Yale University
Concentrations: Geology for Urban Planners, Roles of Houses of Worship in Urban Neighborhoods
m.tevesz@csuohio.edu

Michael Wells
Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. (American History), Ohio State University
Concentrations: Historic Preservation, Sacred Landmarks
m.wells@csuohio.edu

 

JOINT APPOINTED FACULTY

Michael Gates
Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
m.gates@csuohio.edu

Miron Kaufman
Professor, Physics and Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Physics), Carnegie Mellon University
Concentrations: Quantitative Methods
m.kaufman@csuohio.edu

Heidi Gorovitz Robertson
Professor of Environmental Studies, Director (Law) J.D./M.A. Environmental Studies Dual Degree Program
J.D. University of Wisconsin 
LL.M and J.S.D. Columbia University
Concentrations: Environmental Law, Regulation, Property Law, Urban Environmental Issues
h.robertson@csuohio.edu

LEVIN COLLEGE STAFF INSTRUCTORS

James M. Kastelic
Research Fellow/Lecturer
M.A. (Geography), Kent State University
Concentrations: Comprehensive Planning, Environmental Impact Analysis
j.m.kastelic@csuohio.edu

Mark Salling 
Director, Northern Ohio Data & Information Service and Urban Fellow
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Geography, Research Methods, GIS, Demography
m.salling@csuohio.edu